Updated: Feb 19
According to local legend the fish camp received its name in the 1930's from a camp by the name of "Cocker's" located at Seven Oaks Bridge. Apparently the cooks drew water from the river for coffee and cooked fish campstyle in big kettles over an open flame on sawdust covered dirt floors. The atmosphere was so much like a camp that they called it the fish camp. The name stuck!
Presently there are over 30 fish camps in the Gaston County area and they have become a unique tradition for folks in this region.